Independent , Honest and Dignified Journalism

Political Landscape Heats Up: Udhampur Prepares for Three-Cornered Fight in Polls

Udhampur Constituency Braces for Showdown: BJP, Congress, and DPAP Lock Horns

Jammu, 03-04-2024:  In the upcoming Lok Sabha Elections of 2024, the Udhampur constituency in Jammu and Kashmir is gearing up for a triangular fight, with BJP leader and Union minister Jitendra Singh vying to secure the seat for the third consecutive term. His main rival is Choudhary Lal Singh from the Congress, who is currently under scrutiny by the Enforcement Directorate (ED) in a money laundering case. Adding another dimension to the contest is the entry of former minister G M Saroori, representing his Democratic Azad Party (DPAP), making it a three-cornered battle.

Despite the presence of 12 candidates in the fray, the primary contention lies between the BJP nominee and his Congress counterpart. In the previous Lok Sabha election of 2019, Jitendra Singh emerged victorious with a resounding margin of 3,53,272 votes over Vikramaditya Singh of the Congress. Lal Singh, on the other hand, secured a mere 19,049 votes. This trend continued from the 2014 election, where Jitendra Singh defeated veteran politician Ghulam Nabi Azad by a margin of 60,976 votes.

Choudhary Lal Singh, who has a political career spanning several decades, rejoined the Congress recently after a stint with the BJP. He had previously won the Udhampur seat twice on a Congress ticket and served as a Minister in the state government. However, his association with the BJP ended amidst controversy over his participation in a rally related to a high-profile rape-and-murder case in Kathua.

G M Saroori, the candidate from the DPAP, adds an interesting dimension to the electoral landscape. A former J-K minister, Saroori has a strong base in the Inderwal assembly constituency and brings his political experience to the forefront.

The polling for the Udhampur seat is scheduled for April 19, with a total of 2,637 polling stations being set up across five districts. The constituency boasts a significant voter base of 16,23,195 registered voters  — 8,45,283 men, 7,77,899 women and 13 transgender persons.  Moreover, there are substantial numbers of Persons with Disabilities (PWDs) and elderly voters above the age of 80 years, reflecting the diverse demographics of the region.




#UdhampurElections2024 #LokSabhaPolls #BJPvsCongress #TriangularContest #JitendraVsLalSingh #DPAPinFrays #PoliticalShowdown #UdhampurConstituency #ThreeCorneredFight #ElectoralBattle #VotersSpeak #PoliticalHeat