Independent , Honest and Dignified Journalism

Expresses Gratitude to Karnataka for Historic Mandate Against Divisive Politics : Sonia Gandhi

Congress Celebrates Victory in Karnataka: Prominent Leaders Attend Swearing-in Ceremony

20-05-2023: Expressing gratitude to the people of Karnataka for their overwhelming support in electing the Congress party to power, UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi acknowledged the historic mandate and emphasized the government’s commitment to the development of the state. In a personalized video address, the former Congress president highlighted the significance of the mandate as a rejection of divisive politics and corruption, while reaffirming the party’s dedication to implementing the promises made to the people of Karnataka.

Sonia Gandhi conveyed her pride in the new Cabinet’s swift action, as the first meeting approved the immediate implementation of the party’s five key guarantees. These guarantees include providing 200 units of free power to all households (Gruha Jyoti), extending monthly assistance of Rs 2,000 to women heading every family (Gruha Lakshmi), distributing 10 kg of free rice to each member of below-poverty-line households (Anna Bhagya), offering a monthly allowance of Rs 3,000 to unemployed graduate youth and Rs 1,500 to unemployed diploma holders (aged 18-25) for two years (Yuva Nidhi), and ensuring free travel for women in public transport buses (Uchita Prayana).

Following the Cabinet meeting, Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah confirmed the orders for the implementation of these guarantees and expressed his commitment to their enforcement. The upcoming cabinet meeting, scheduled within a week, will further solidify the implementation process. The Karnataka Legislative Assembly session, set to begin next week, will provide an avenue for the government to discuss and address key issues.

In a significant development, eight Congress MLAs, including Priyank Kharge (son of Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge), G Parameshwara, and MB Patil, were sworn in as ministers in the Karnataka Cabinet during the oath-taking ceremony in Bengaluru. The other MLAs who took the oath included KH Muniyappa, KJ George, Satish Jarkiholi, Ramalinga Reddy, and BZ Zameer Ahmed Khan. Prominent leaders of the Congress party, including Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi, as well as national president Mallikarjun Kharge, were present at the ceremony. Chief Ministers from Congress-ruled states, such as Himachal Pradesh CM Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu, Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot, and Chhattisgarh CM Bhupesh Baghel, graced the occasion. Several opposition leaders, including MK Stalin (Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu), Nitish Kumar (Chief Minister of Bihar) and his deputy Tejashwi Yadav, former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti, Farooq Abdullah, Sharad Pawar, and Kamal Haasan, were also in attendance.

The Congress party emerged victorious in the May 10 elections, securing 135 seats out of the 224-member Karnataka Assembly. The results led to the ousting of the ruling BJP, which garnered 66 seats, while the Janata Dal (Secular) secured 19 seats. The Congress government aims to leverage this decisive mandate to fulfill its promises and usher in prosperity, peace, and progress for the people of Karnataka.